The history of the “Ex Conterie” of Murano

Punta Conterie is situated inside the complex of the “Ex Conterie” of Murano which evolved at the navigation junction between the Grand Canal and the San Donato Canal.

The island of Murano came to symbolise the production of blown glass from a very early date, and there were many specialist factories focused on precious “conterie” – minute glass paste beads which were made by cutting a long and very thin perforated hot-rounded cane of glass within special metal containers. This was an extremely complex process, requiring large and very lengthy work spaces.

In 1898 14 local companies founded the Venetian Society for the Industry of the Conteries, and moved to the huge 22,000 square metre complex located in the heart of Murano, between Palazzo Giustinian and the Basilica of San Donato. This work space was the headquarters of one of the most important industrial companies in the island’s history, enough to require 18 gas ovens for rounding off the beads, 3,000 workers in total (between 1940 and 1970) and producing 45,000 tonnes of beads.

In 1993 socio-economic difficulties and the crisis in the sector led to the final closure of the industrial complex, which was brought back by the Municipality of Venice in 1995.

Even today, the “Ex Conterie” are among the most iconic buildings of the island of Murano and of the entire lagoon, recently destined for residential use and redeveloped by the opening of commercial activities such as hotels, shops or craft workshops. It is into this fascinating historical context that Punta Conterie fits – an important private redevelopment project – with a complete proposition which shows the art of glass within the notable walls of the historic industrial building, respecting its origins and yet with a contemporary interpretation.

Newsletter subscribe →